Emergency Management

Mitigation Practices

Mitigation should form the foundation of every emergency management agency’s plans and procedures.  Emergency management agencies must adopt mitigation practices to reduce, minimize, or eliminate hazards in their community.  Ramsey County adopted the Ramsey County Hazard Mitigation Plan (HMP) in 2007 that identified the hazards they faced, certain vulnerabilities to these hazards, and mitigation strategies for the future.

The Ramsey County HMP (PDF) is the update to this plan. The plan is a guide for all communities that participated in its development. The plan fulfills the requirements of the Federal Disaster Mitigation Act as administered by the Minnesota Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (HSEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). 
These communities were identified as participating in the 2007 Ramsey County Hazard Mitigation Plan (HMP) and have renewed their commitment for this HMP update. The cities of St. Paul, Blaine, Spring Lake Park, St. Anthony, and the University of Minnesota – Twin Cities campus all reside (at least partially) within Ramsey County, but are covered under other HMPs.

Mitigation Municipalities

  • Arden Hills
  • Falcon Heights
  • Gem Lake
  • Lauderdale
  • Little Canada
  • Maplewood
  • Mounds View
  • White Bear Township
  • New Brighton
  • North Oaks
  • North St. Paul
  • Roseville
  • Shoreview
  • Vadnais Heights
  • White Bear Lake